Giving thanks to our volunteers!

With Thanksgiving this weekend, our thoughts turn to the tremendous gratitude we have for our talented and dedicated volunteers from this season.  We’re so very grateful for the following incredible volunteers who worked so hard this year to make the 75th season very special:

Diane Dennis Rock who once again dedicated countless hours to produce our HHLPOA calendar.

Eddy Dadzis who together with Ross Rawlings, Tyler Rawlings, Ben Ianetta, Peter Mackintosh as well as Board Members, Ken Comrie, Mo Jansons, Peter Dadzis helped to make sure our Memorial Plaque Wall was erected for May 23rd. Lumber was donated by the Schell family. We are also grateful for the support of the Tomlinson family and the Rodco Construction team for their help. And last but not least, Joan Weir did an excellent job of leading the dedication ceremony.

Bob Hodgins, with help from Pat and Kris Willis, came up with the idea for the “Get to Know Your Lakes” Challenge and handled all of the tasks involved. Well done!

Ron Chmara with assistance from his daughter Alison, Kris Hamden, Craig and Marianne Welbourn, Stu Evans, Ken Comrie, Shelley Fellows, Ross Rawlings and prize organizer, Carol Foderick made our first annual Kids’ Rock Bass Fishing Derby a real success!

The Foderick-O’Halloran clan once again made this year’s Parade of Lights another resounding success!

Regan O’Halloran was also the chief organizer of the Nine and Dine Golf Scramble.

Our Green-Up Day just couldn’t happen without all the volunteers who helped clear the trash from the roadside. Congratulations to HHLPOA Board Director, Will L’Heureux for managing this activity and having our organization officially adopt Braeloch Road with a county sign.

LuAnn Hammond led the very successful first Annual Bakers’ Contest along with the help of volunteer Brook O’Halloran.

Barb Bell has very ably coordinated the prizes for several of our events. It just wouldn’t be the same without all these special prizes and awards!

Mary Intven Wallace has taught art instruction once again as part of her volunteerism.

Doug Dodge, Ed Jackson and HHLPOA Directors Ken Comrie and Will L’Heureux work together to make sure the Navigation and No Wake buoys are in place and then later in the season removed. Thanks for keeping us safe on the water!

Our Lake Partner Program also relies on volunteers to take water samples and gather data from each of our three Lakes.  Thanks goes to Elaine and Ted Burbidge who do this on Halls, Rita and President Peter Dadzis who take care of Big Hawk and Director Lindsay Day who does Little Hawk.

Gordon Lugsdin has made Eastern Bluebird boxes from lumber that was donated by Les Weir. Look for more on that next year.

Members of the 75th anniversary Committee include Mary Chrow, Dorothy McCord, Carol Winter, Pat and Kris Willis, Bob Hodgins, Peter Dadzis and Joan Hamilton who worked for several months to organize events for this special year under the leadership of Chair Carol Foderick.  Mary Chrow also received the HHLPOA “Super Star” award for her volunteer work this year – a special shout out to her!

HHLPOA Board Members also give their time to check on the quality of the water by sending in samples for the Love Your Lakes program. They organize events like the Floating Markets and the Training Sessions for the new water pumps. Communicating is a top priority whether it is news from the affiliations to which we belong like the Coalition of Equitable Water Flows (CEWF) or the Federation of Ontario Cottagers Association (FOCA) or the Coalition of Haliburton Associations or the politics of Algonquin Highlands municipality.

Partnerships with Trent University’s U-link Projects has also been an initiative of the HHLPOA Board.

Your 2021 Board Members have given freely of their time:

Peter Dadzis- President

Mo Jansons – Vice President

Graham Mino – Treasurer

Curt Alpeter, Ken Comrie, Lindsay Day, Shelley Fellows, Carol Foderick, Joan Hamilton, D’Arcy LeNeveu, Will L’Heureux, Allison King and Sam Perri

We would like to give our heartfelt thanks to each and every one of these precious and valued volunteers!